If you haven’t read my first blog, you’ll want to do that before continuing—otherwise this crazy stuff will make even less sense.

But in short, I stated that he was born Jesus, and became Christ. He was a spirit filled man, and came to faith that he was God. He came to faith by hearing the word of the Lord—like we do! (Again, I have paraphrased some of these thoughts from Andrew’s G42 message—I did not discover these myself, but I believe them!)

In the classroom. Yes, we actually spent a lot of time in class, we didn’t only drink 2 euro bottles of wine

The Son of Man stepped into his identity of the Son of God, and that’s what we get to do, step into our identities as children of God. “The son of man is the son of God so that sons of men can become sons of God.”

Now, let’s bounce back to the Old Testament for a little bit—keeping in mind the 41st “generation” of Jesus, and the 42nd becoming Christ.

When Moses led the Israelites out of captivity in Egypt, he brought them into the wilderness—on the way to the promised land. A journey that could’ve only been a couple of weeks ended up being 40 years, all because of their disobedience and fear of the giants that inhabited the land the Lord had given them. Only Caleb and Joshua were willing to trust their God and step into their inheritance.

So instead of a rather quick trip, they wandered around in the desert waiting for a whole disobedient generation to die off.

In Numbers 33—another exciting chapter—you will find a long list of all of the stops the Israelites made during their wandering, and on the way to the promised land. Wherever they stopped and set up camp, they would name the area, and the name they came up with was based off of either the geography of the stop, their circumstances, or their emotions.

1st semester class + 2nd semester class and 3 of the founders of the World Race

Take a step back for a moment. What is going on here with their naming system? Other than geography, these people were living circumstantially and emotionally.

There was one stop they named Marah, which means bitterness. They hadn’t had anything to drink in 3 days, and what they found in this stop was bitter water.

Are you living in Marah? Are you living in bitterness?

There was another place they named Haradah, which means fright or fearful.

Are you living in fear?

Another one, Kibroth-Hattavah, means “graves of lust.” Sounds pretty good.

Are you in a grave of lust?

The Israelites literal journey serves as an example for our spiritual journey. The question for us is are we going to stay in places of death, or are we going to step into our inheritance of Christ in us? Are we going to get to the promised land? Or we going to hang on to anger, self pitty, past wounds, lust or whatever else may be holding us back?

Guess how many stops the Israelites make on the way to their inheritance, the promised land? This is cool, hang in there.

For your convenience, I made the list from Number 33 of all of their stops, but I encourage you to count them yourself and compare your list to mine.

1. Sukkoth 15. Rimmon-Perez 29. Jotbathah
2. Etham 16. Libnah 30. Abronah
3. Pi-Hahiroth 17. Rissah 31. Ezion-Geber
4. Marah 18. Kehelathah 32. Kadesh
5. Elim 19. Mount Shepher 33. Mount Hor
6. Red Sea 20. Haradah 34. Zalmonah
7. Wilderness of Sin 21. Makheloth 35. Punon
8. Dophkah 22. Tahath 36. Oboth
9. Alush 23. Terah 37. Iye-Abarim
10. Rephidim 24. Mithcah 38. Dibon-Gad
11. Sinai Wilderness 25. Hashmonah 39. Almon-Diblathaim
12. Kibroth-Hattaavah 26. Moseroth 40. Abarim Mountains
13. Hazeroth 27. Bene-Jaakan 41. Moan Plains
14. Rithmah 28. Hor-Haggidgad 42.

41 stops before the promised land. In my next blog I’ll talk about what happens as the Israelites go from 41 to 42, and other fun things.

Myanmar village (on our practicum), making new relationships